Singing Away the Dark

Image

Do you know the talented Canadian children’s book illustrator Julie Morstad? She’s new to me, but I’ve been looking for some new children’s books for the 4-8 year old range that my daughter can use in her teaching and fell upon her work. Lucky me! This is the story of a little girl who has to walk weekday mornings in the dark, and through the snowy countryside, to catch her bus to school. There’s a lovely rhyming text and simple, but breathtaking illustrations. I’m hoping the children Miranda reads it to will love it as much as I do!

Image

Image

4 thoughts on “Singing Away the Dark

  1. Oh I envy Miranda having such a good excuse for buying children’s books. There are so many wonderful ones out there, but I feel silly buying them for myself! K xx

    • I know what you mean exactly! I might be able to justify gardening books (and we know how unlikely it is I’d use one of those other than to enjoy the prose and pictures!), but picture books as a collection (esp when I probably would want any visiting children only to look at a second useable copy!) might be considered a bit eccentric, ahem! Now though I know M will be grateful recipient and can peruse the charity shop shelves assiduously. So glad she didn’t want to be a secondary teacher of PE! xx

Leave a Reply

