Furlongs in Art

furlongsI have just returned from a lovely two-days-and-a-night break with Miranda and Rachel seeing Lewes, Charleston and Rodmell for the first time. East Sussex is a place I’d long wanted to visit, but had some how never got there. I didn’t have time to research much before we left having just suffered the loss of my much loved Uncle who passed away peacefully the weekend before Easter, but it didn’t matter, we had no real agenda other than to enjoy ourselves and see Charleston and Rodmell. Indeed, sad and careworn as I was feeling, Miranda’s empathy (she adored her Great-Uncle), the good cheerful company of two oldfashionedgirls and the bracing (it was freezing!) and restorative East Sussex air was the best medicine. I did, however, remember how to find Furlongs, Peggy Angus‘ home and inspiration for so much beautiful art by Christopher Brown, Edwin Smith and Eric Ravilious. We only saw the outside of course, but it still looked exactly “right” as if it had stepped out of the paintings and photos we have of it from the last century and materialized gracefully but solidly in this. You could appreciate how beautiful the house and setting were in every season, but the greys, browns and muted greens of such a cold Spring seemed particularly appropriate. I wonder if that beautiful wallpaper is still there?

THE-KITCHEN-OF-PEGGY-ANGUSS-HOUSE-FURLONGS-NEAR-FIRLE-EAST-SUSSEX-1953-1-C26685Ainterior at furlongsrgb

 

 

4 thoughts on “Furlongs in Art

  1. Dear Donna, I am so sorry to hear about your uncle. Glad to hear though that the trip has made things bit better. I adore East Sussex and keep going back, we just went to Hastings this weekend and it was so pretty. Lewes is definitely on my list, really hope this summer but before that I have a course booked at Sarah Raven’s garden in May with my mum-in-law, fingers crossed for sunshine. X

  2. It’s good to hear you had a decent break, it sounds like just the thing. I think I must have met Peggy Angus when I was a child but don’t actually remember. Her daughter is a neighbour in Shetland and she used to visit regularly but of course you don’t have a lot of interest in other peoples grandparents when you’re in you’re young (I didn’t anyway). She sounded like a fascinating if difficult woman. I do know that her grand daughter has her wallpaper blocks and can sometimes be persuaded to print them.

    • Thank you Hayley! I so envy you having met Peggy Angus, and I hope you can persuade the granddaughter to do some prints from those blocks one day. I would just love to go to Shetland at some point (and your blog posts on it have whetted my appetite even more!)

Leave a Reply

